“Software Update Failed an error occurred while downloading iOS 8.x.x”. [solution]

If you’re fed up with seeing the error “Software Update Failed an error occurred while downloading iOS 8.x.x” (here x is just a subversion) while updating your iPhone, iPad, iPod etc…

Software Update Failed an error occurred while downloading iOS 8.x.x
Software Update Failed an error occurred while downloading iOS 8.x.x

Well here is the solution (or you can call it as a circumvent), it worked for me, what I did is?

  • After getting frustrated by seeing the error million times, I’ve decided to update my iPad through iTunes.
  • Connected my iPad to iTunes.
  • Clicked on ‘Update’ device in the iTunes.
  • Update began.
  • Waited for 5 hours, 700 MB downloaded out of 1.4 GB (device was connected to PC for 5 hours), unfortunately my internet connection unexpectedly interrupted.
  • When I clicked resume, download just stared again from the beginning. Got more frustrated.
  • By that time, my iPad got fully charged.
  • And I decided not to update my iPad.
  • But I thought to attempt update for last time in the iPad in the device settings.
  • Surprise!
  • Update started downloading. 
  • Kept for update for the whole night, finally my iPad got updated.

Though I can’t figure out the technical details of this problem. But this worked for me 😀

Remember to charge your device to 100% (keep it 20-30 minutes extra even after seeing 100% in the battery status) and try to update your device.

And I hope this might solve the problem in your device.

Thank you.

“Software Update Failed an error occurred while downloading iOS 8.x.x”. [solution]

Leave a comment